Week 3 Reflection – UAS Robotics 677

This was an interesting week.  The first thing I learned was that I like messing around with the Arduino Kit.  It is fun and it has helped me with my understanding of basic electrical concepts.  The first project was cool and I can’t wait for the next one.

I learned from Brian that tinkering and letting students struggle is related to the personalization movement.  If everyone is at a different place because they need to figure it out themselves then teachers need a system to manage this in their classrooms.  I just got back from a training from Educational Elements about personalization and how we can implement it in our schools.  Homer High is scheduled to role out a school-wide PL program in the fall of 2018.

I also learned from Jule Peterson that several of our fellow students in this class also struggled as students in K-12 settings just like me.  This begs the question, was this because we never had to struggle, weren’t allowed to tinker or just had bad teachers?  Of course, it could just be that I wasn’t that interested in school and I didn’t have good relationships with my teachers until high school and college.

 

By waclawskid

Leave a Reply

