Reflection to Week One Learning (ET)

I admit that I got a slow start getting going with this class since this is one of the busiest times of the year for me, but I found the discussion stimulating.  I completed my first assignment from a dark hotel room in Palmer at about 11:00 pm on the 19th because I was helping with the region track championships.  I am usually very efficient completing work, but the couple of times I tried to start the class I found it very difficult to find the assignment and figure out what to do.  Going from program to programs feels very disjointed and isn’t very intuitive for me.  I admit, I like the ease and simplicity of using blackboard.  I am familiar with it and know how it works. I will withhold my judgment to this new learning system as an exercise of growth mindset and see how the class goes.

Most of what I learned was getting back up to speed with taking a college class.  It has been a couple of years since my last class and it is summer.  Both conspired to help make my first assignment weak.  Luckily Sara L. reminded me to post references from her example.  I have also had to relearn the habit of doing a little every day or it can be too much.  Waiting till the last day is not a sustainable strategy to complete the entire class.

I did found the discuss about past emerging technologies  to be stimulating.  I remember when cell phones first came out and it is interesting to see what happened to some of those old ET technologies.  I found other students views on emerging technologies to help widen my perspective.  I really wasn’t interested in social media ET’s until a couple of student mentioned them.  I made me rethink about social media and its influence on education.  These new emerging technologies take up a large amount of my time as an administrator.

Overall it was a productive week and my next assignments will be of a higher quality.

By waclawskid

One comment on “Reflection to Week One Learning (ET)

  1. Hi Douglas,

    What stood out to me when I read the article where Fred Baker interviewed George Velestsianos is when Fred noted that the designer (big “D”) is the one using technology as part of the teacher’s own dynamic response toward adapting to the needs and interests of students around them. This is as opposed to the designer being a little “d” that is driven by technologies; such as when a computer program is preset for students and the instructional designer has to work around the program to make it work for his/her students. I have encountered this when I used a certain reading program. The video clips were very far removed from the context of the students I was teaching; after all, the program was written in Texas much like many of our textbooks have been. Another issue was that while teaching English Language Learners (ELLs), the teacher or students depicted within the video clips talked so fast and used such unfamiliar schemata (“sets of schema or internal representations of the world; an organization of concepts and actions that can be revised by new information about the world”– http://www.thefreedictionary.com/schemata) that I found my role as facilitator explaining way too many things that the program designers assumed students knew.

    Aleta

Leave a Reply

